Wed. Oct 5th, 2022

The division of Public Instruction issued a round on Friday directing schools to not educate an whole of seven classes, whose authors have withdrawn permission for its inclusion inside the revised textbooks.

The round issued by M.P. Madegowda, Managing Director, Karnataka Textbook Society, lists texts by Devanur Mahadeva, Dr. G. Ramakrishna, Roopa Hassan, Eerappa M. Kambali, Satish Kulkarni, Sukanya Maruti and Doddahulluru Rukkojirao in faculty X, IX and VI Kannada textbooks as to not be taught to college students for the tutorial 12 months 2002-23.

These writers had withdrawn permission to incorporate their works inside the newly revised textbooks, taking exception to what they termed “saffronisation” of textbooks underneath the Rohith Chakrathirtha-led committee, which had launched in, amongst others, a speech by RSS founder okay.B. Hedgewar as a lesson in faculty X Kannada textbook.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.